Create an account

melband.com.au

MELBAND: Forums

:: AUSBAND :: :: View topic - Home recording setup
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Home recording setup

View previous topic :: View next topic  
blimp
Rehearsing
Rehearsing

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 10:49 am    Post subject: Home recording setup Reply with quote

Okay so I'm a total amateur at recording so go easy on me.

I haven't been happy with my mixes for a long time. Too quiet, too muddy, not holding together, no punch, no space. I'm too embarrassed to post any examples here. Yeh I realise it's the ear, not the gear, but I want to rule out the possibility that it's the gear letting me down so that I can concentrate on my mixing chops. I'm not fooling myself that I'm going to get radio-quality recordings or anything, but I do want to improve. Oh and I'm generally going for a vintage, rootsy kind of sound rather than something polished and modern-sounding.

My current signal chain is instrument (pro quality gear) > mic / Radial passive DI > A&H Zed12FX (doubles as interface) > USB out out into PC running Reaper. I then mix and "master" in the box. I use a VST (Amplitube) for the bass guitar, but everything else is micced, mostly with 57s. I mix using cans and have some cheap monitors and a couple of stereos for reference.

I'd like to continue using Reaper, and I'm happy with my PC's performance (never misses a beat). I'm also happy multi-tracking and having the drums as one stereo track etc. I understand that this is limiting when it comes to mixing, but I enjoy the challenge.