Create an account

melband.com.au

MELBAND: Forums

:: AUSBAND :: :: View topic - Session Drummers
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Session Drummers

Post new topic   Reply to topic    :: AUSBAND :: Forum Index -> Music Tips, Hints & Information
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Show077
Rehearsing
Rehearsing

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 8:24 am    Post subject: Session Drummers Reply with quote

Hi,

I just wanted to get an idea how much it would cost to hire a session drummer for recording. Music style is Hard rock / progressive metal and it will be for 8 songs. Any advice?

Cheers!
Redlich
Rehearsing
Rehearsing

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey mate,

I'm a session drummer and am happy to discuss details with you. If you want to contact me directly or send through any further info please feel free.

Ben,

benredlich87@gmail.com

facebook.com/benredlichdrummer
The_Fiddler
Rehearsing
Rehearsing

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2016 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends on how much time is involved and each project is different.

If you're recording live drums "To tape" and need perfect takes, well then you need more time with the drummer. I had a session guy play my TD25 live and then we edited the midi later to tidy up any issues. This allowed a minimum of time commitment from the drummer, and ultimate freedom for us to edit later.

For reference, I paid less than $500 and because we flew through it, we got 9 songs in an 8 hour session. I'd suggest you'd need at least two studio days for someone not familiar with the tunes, and allow enough time for them to learn them.

Further, if you're asking them to write the drums, are you giving them APRA rights?
Redlich
Rehearsing
Rehearsing

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The_Fiddler wrote: